ElvisPresley.NewsElvis Presley Home

Las Vegas March 1975 Happening : March 22, 1975 Midnight performance 2 CD

By: Elvis Australia
Source: www.elvis.com.au
April 4, 2013 - 1:32:57 PM
EP, Elvis CD News, Elvis News, Elvis Presley Bootleg's

Email this page.

The NEW Rock Legends label will release SOON a new double CD recorded from the soundboard. The Elvis Presley Show was a HAPPENING and first Spring appearance in Sin City since 1956 was no different. The 50s gig was definitely way above in terms of performance, but nonetheless a flop at the time. Wrong place, wrong moment ! Tons of water had flown under the bridge since May 1956, and by 1969 he became and established himself as the King Of Vegas. March 1975 wasn't a flop although he had health problems, but still came in an excellent mood and rich of new studio material recorded about a week before. He was away from Las Vegas since September 1974, but he opened this Season with some of his new songs ; And I Love You So, Green Green Grass Of Home and Fairytale. T-R-O-U-B-L-E would wait up to his next tour before entering his song list as a regular number, whilst the odd Shake A Hand and Pieces Of My Life were performed a bit later during the July 1975 tour. Some material from the strong December 1973 sessions like Promised Land , It's Midnight and My Boy were incorporated along some unrehearsed moments to his basic program.

The first CD features the nearly complete pre-show, and on the second CD the March 22, 1975 Midnight performance along with some bonus tracks recorded three nights earlier.

The March 22, 1975 MS has been released twice but our source is definitely from an earlier generation. The very short Joe Guercio Orchestra introduction before the Also Sprach Zarathustra is not on the aforementioned releases and presence of vocal distortion in Elvis' vocal is rather smooth and less annoying than it was before.

This new digipack double set will be a very LIMITED EDITION and first intended for the fans who didn't have these recordings, or all the ones wanting the COMPLETE HAPPENING.

Las Vegas March 1975 Happening : March 22, 1975 Midnight performance 2 CD

Track list :

CD #1

1 Joe Guercio's orchestra opening
2 Voice introduction / Going Back To Memphis Tomorrow
3 Into The Father's House / Closing
4 Philadelphia Freedom
5 Introduction of the Sweet Inspirations / Stevie Is A Wonder / For Once In My Life / You Got It Bad Girl / Superstition / You Are The Sunshine Of My Life / Livin' For The City / All In Love Is Fair / Higher Ground / Closing
6 Jackie Kahane introduction and Comedy Act

Total running time 43;15

Tracks 1-6 recorded in Las Vegas March 19, 1975 D.S.

Tracks 2-3 performed by Voice
Tracks 4-5 performed by The Sweet Inspirations
Track 6 performed by Jacki Kahane

CD #2

1 The Hot Hilton Horns intro / Introduction : Also Sprach Zarathustra
2 C.C. Rider
3 I Got A Woman / Amen
4 Love Me
5 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)
6 And I Love You So
7 Big Boss Man
8 It's Midnight
9 Promised Land
10 Green Green Grass Of Home
11 Fairytale
12 Introductions of Vocalists, Musician
13 What I'd Say (featuring James Burton)
14 Drums solo (featuring Ronnie Tutt)
15 Bass Solo (featuring Duke Bardwell)
16 Piano solo (featuring Glen D. Hardin)
17 Electric piano solo (featuring David Briggs)
18 Introductions of Vocalists,Charlie Hodge and orchestra
19 Orchestra solo (featruing Joe Guercio orchestra)
20 My Boy
21 I'll Remember You
22 Let Me Be There (with reprise)
23 (Le Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel
24 Hound Dog (with reprise)
25 I'll Be There (excerpt) / You're The Reason I'm Living
26 Can't Help Falling In Love
27 Closing Vamp


28 Big Boss Man
29 My Boy
30 I'll Remember You
31 Hound Dog
32 An American Trilogy
33 If You Love Me (let Me Know)

Total running time 78;02

Tracks 1-4 recorded in Las Vegas March 20, 1975 D.S.
Tracks 5-27 recorded in Las Vegas March 22,1975 M.S.
Tracks 28-33 recorded in Las Vegas March 19, 1975 M.S.

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD + 16 page booklet.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.